Regional Assembly

The highest decision-making power in the Regional Council of Päijät-Häme is exercised by the Regional Assembly with 36 members, elected by the Representative Assembly of the member municipalities.

The Regional Assembly members and their deputies must be councillors in their respective municipalities.

The Regional Assembly meets 2–3 times a year.

Among other things, the Regional Assembly:

  • directs the development of the province by approving the provincial plan and the development programmes and regional land use plans through which it is implemented;
  • controls the council’s operations by approving the financial plan and budget as well as the regulations required for organising administration;
  • oversees the council’s activities by approving the financial statement;
  • is responsible for the formulation and implementation of the provincial will and political directions.

Further information

Jari Paakkunainen
Director, Administration
Tel.: +358 44 3719 455