The Regional Council of Päijät-Häme

The Regional Council of Päijät-Häme is a statutory joint municipal authority, which comprises ten municipalities: Asikkala, Hartola, Heinola, Hollola, Iitti, Kärkölä, Lahti, Orimattila, Padasjoki and Sysmä

We supervise the interests of our region at a national and international level in co-operation with local and national operators. We co-ordinate and create opportunities for co-operation. We also work closely with municipalities, joint municipal authorities, higher education institutions and businesses. In addition, we are in contact with other public authorities and stakeholders.

Our statutory tasks include regional development and land use planning (regional planning and transport system planning). The Regional Council of Päijät-Häme finances various regional development projects with national and EU funding.

The Regional Council of Päijät-Häme is led by the Regional Assembly and the Regional Board.

There are 25 employees working in our office, led by Regional Mayor Niina Pautola-Mol.

Contact Information

Regional Council of Päijät-Häme
Hämeenkatu 9 A, PL 50, 15111 Lahti
email: toimisto(a) or

Population of Päijät-Häme 205,848 (1.1.2021)