The Regional Council of Päijät-Häme

Regional Council of Päijät-Häme is one of the 19 Finnish Regional Councils. The main tasks of the Council are the regional plan for land use (inclufing traffic) and the administration of the European Union Regional Funds. The Council also creates and manages the regional strategy with the stakeholders.

There are nine municipalities in the region, these are Asikkala, Hartola, Heinola, Hollola, Kärkölä, Lahti, Orimattila, Padasjoki and Sysmä. There are appr 200 000 inhabitants in the region. Päijät-Häme is close to the Greater Helsinki area and thus has good connections.